New England Dragway’s stars of 2012 shined bright amidst the elegant surroundings of the Wyndham-Andover Hotel February 2.  Emcee and New England Dragway announcer Brian Lohnes heralded the feats of the track’s top guns as they collected their reward for a hard fought battle during the 2012 season.

  Perhaps the most moving moment of the evening came when Jason Mazzotta delivered a heart wrenching speech choked with emotion and more than a fair share of tears.  In his rookie year Jason emerged from assistant crew chief for his brother Jared Kinson to claiming the title in Tim's Speed and Custom Street Eliminator.  Jason paid special tribute to his father, Ted Mazzotta for helping earn what will undoubtedly be the first of many accolades and his Mom for those lucky tuna sandwiches.


Earning the top spots in the VP Racing Fuels ET Series were Doug Hutchins in the Indy Auto Parts Super Eliminator category; Jared Kinson, Pro Eliminator; Ed Hughes, Motorcycle/Snowmobile Eliminator; Bob Lawrence, Dennis K. Burke Super Comp; Jason Mazzotta, Tim’s Speed and Custom Street Eliminator and Julia Sparago, Lucky’s Auto Repair Junior Dragster.

New England Dragway’s specialty class winners were on hand to pick up their gold and silver trophies including Ed Hughes, Top Bike; John Kydd, Real Street; Dave Nadeau, Fast Street; Dan Christopher, Super Street; Bill Sanford, Wild Street; Ben Dahlgreen, X-275; Al Staffieri, Dan Page Race Cars Top Dragster; Wayne Horton, HG Construction Top Sportsman; John Sanborn, Power Technologies Super Street; and Tony Ficher, Davez Custom Motorcycle Street Fighter.

Recipients of the coveted specialty awards, made more significant because the winners are chosen by their peers were:

Lucky’s Auto Repair Junior Dragster
Best Engineered, Joey Wallis; Best Appearing, Tyler Fillipone; Most Improved Racer, Cameron Murray; Racer of the Year, Julia Sparago; Sportsman of the Year, Steven Knight; Hard Luck Award, Jackson Worters;  Stand By Your Racer, Franny Mason; Rookie of the Year, Tyler Fillipone.

Tim’s Speed and Custom Street Eliminator
Best Engineered, Ron Childs; Best Appearing, Ron Boyd; Most Improved Racer, Ron Boyd; Racer of the Year, Jason Mazzotta; Sportsman of the Year, Jeremy Young; Hard Luck Award, Charlie Quintal; Stand By Your Racer, Robert Young.

Pro Eliminator
Best Engineered, Dusty Lowell; Best Appearing, Jim Choti; Most Improved Racer, Jorge Correia; Racer of the Year, Jared Kinson; Sportsman of the Year, Bobby Monteforte; Hard Luck Award, Joe Henderson; Stand By Your Racer, Ted Mazzotta; Rookie of the Year, Ed Knodler.

Indy Auto Parts Super Pro Eliminator
Best Engineered, Bill Silva; Best Appearing, Doug Hutchins; Most Improved Racer, John Beaule; Racer of Year, Rob Hyatt; Sportsman of the Year, Lee Vartanian; Hard Luck Award, Steve Paquin;  Rookie Of The Year, Amanda Lachapelle.

Motorcycle Eliminator
Best Engineered, John Parenteau; Best Appearing, John Civitarese; Most Improved Racer, Tom Loosigian; Racer of the Year, Ed Hughes; Sportsman of the Year, Scott Levasseur; Hard Luck Award, Chris Pratt; Stand By Your Racer, RuthAnne Parenteau.

Dennis K. Burke Super Comp
Best Engineered, Paul Neal; Jim Blake, Best Appearing; Most Improved Racer, Bob Lawrence; Racer of the Year, Bob Lawrence; Mike Pesa Sportsman of the Year, Jim Ditucci; Hard Luck Award, Mike Moniz; Stand By Your Racer, Deb Bixby; Rookie of the Year, Chris Damiano.

Top Bike Eliminator
Best Engineered, Sam Hurwitz; Best Appearing, Joe Abshire; Racer of the Year, Ed Hughes; Hard Luck Award, Steve Kady; Stand By Your Racer, Yvonne Galligan; Rookie of the Year, Sam Hurwitz.

Receiving recognition for participating as a member of Team New England Dragway at the 2012 NHRA Northeast Division Bracket finals were Dieter Anger, Robert Baker, Rick Bell, Eric Cabral, Dan Caissie, Michael Caron, Ron Childs, Jim Choti, Carl Cicchetto, Jorge Correia, Joe Crump, Wayne Desantis, Debby Digenova, Steve George, Keith Gibbons, Al Gouveia, Joe Henderson, Ed Hughes, Doug Hutchins, Rob Hyatt, Dave Johnson, Brian Khoury, Jared Kinson, Steven Knight, Ray Knight, Ed Knodler, Amanda Lachapelle, Dustin Lowell, Jason Mazzotta, Chris McCloud, Jeff Nunes, Don Palm, Sr., John Parenteau, Robert Smith, Al Staffieri, Joe Sylva, Chuck Tersolo, Julie Tersolo, Lee Vartanian, Jeff Viens and Mark Winterbottom.  Long time Team Captain announced she was stepping down from that position after serving the team for nearly 30 years.  In recognition of her dedication she was presented with a special clock commemorating her dedication to Team New England Dragway.

Jared Kinson was awarded a special NHRA King of the Track jacket in recognition of winning that race last Fall.

A host of door prizes were provided this year including two, heavy duty winches valued at more than $1,000 supplied by SuperWinch; an engine diaper, gift certificates and T-shirts provided by Dennis Ridgeway Enterprises; special hats from Fuzion Fitness; sweatshirts courtesy of VP Racing Fuels; gift certificates and table favors from Rock Auto.   

A host of gift certificates ranging in value from $10 to $50 were provided by Competition Products; Sunny’s Restaurant, 250 Calef Highway, Lee, NH; Epping House of Pizza, 2 Water Street, Epping, NH; Telly’s Pizzeria, 235 Calef Highway, Epping, NH; Johnson’s Steak and Seafood, 1334 First NH Turnpike, Northwood, NH; Pam’s Family Restaurant, 110 Calef Highway, Epping, NH; Coopers Hill Pizzeria and Sports Bar, 2 Cooper Hill Road, Northwood, NH; China Jade Restaurant, 21 Fresh River Road, Epping, NH and Roselynn Ice Cream, 153 Exeter Road, Epping, NH.

Opening Day Countdown


Sat Mar 21 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NHRA Chassis Certifications. By appointment only.
Sun Mar 22 @ 8:00AM - 12:00PM
NHRA Chassis Certifications. By appointment only.

Take NED With You. Download
The New Mobile App.
Available On
The Google Play Store
And The Apple iTunes Store
Cell Phone  Tablet
Click Here To Follow Us On Facebook

  Click Here To Follow Us On Twitter 

Join NED's Text Alerts
And Know Before You Go.

Click Here
To Join A 2015 Points Program


Diesel Direct


Super Comp        Super Street

Join the new
Racer E-Newsletter

created exclusively for the
Racers of NED.
Click Here To Join The
Racer E-Newsletter


Keep Up To Date On What's
              Happening At NED
Click Here To Receive The
NED E-mail Newstetter

or text "NEDRAGWAY
to 22828 on
your cell phone
Click Here To View Privacy Policy

You're Not The Only Fan
Of Drag Racing...

Advertise with New England Dragway
and Motorsports Park! Newspaper Ads,
Signage, Sponsorships, on site direct
marketing and many other options to
reach out to Thousands Of Potential
Customers who love motorsports with
a loyalty to sponsors like no other sport.
To be a part of our advertising family
call us at (603) 679-8001 or by email
at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

aaastreetlegal 4c jdrl 4c div1 northeast-4c nhra member track lucas-oil summit-racing-series 4c kingofthetrack

Sanctioned by the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA).
Copyright 1995-2014 New England Dragway, Inc. All rights reserved.